Version Numbers
Home ] Up ]
 

 

 
In the Internet Protocol (IP) [RFC791] there is a field to identify
the version of the internetwork general protocol.  This field is 4
bits in size.
Assigned Internet Version Numbers
Decimal   Keyword    Version                            References
-------   -------    -------                            ----------
    0                Reserved                                [JBP]
  1-3                Unassigned                              [JBP]
    4       IP       Internet Protocol                [RFC791,JBP]
    5       ST       ST Datagram Mode                [RFC1190,JWF]
    6       IPv6     Internet Protocol version 6         [RFC1752]
    7       TP/IX    TP/IX: The Next Internet                [RXU]
    8       PIP      The P Internet Protocol                 [PXF]
    9       TUBA     TUBA                                    [RXC]
10-14                Unassigned                              [JBP]
   15                Reserved                                [JBP]
REFERENCES
[RFC791] Postel, J., ed., "Internet Protocol - DARPA Internet Program
         Protocol Specification", STD 5, RFC 791, USC/Information
         Sciences Institute, September 1981.
[RFC1190] Topolcic, C., Editor, "Experimental Internet Stream
          Protocol, Version 2 (ST-II)", RFC 1190, CIP Working Group,
          October 1990.
[RFC1752] Bradner, S., and A. Mankin, "The Recommendation for the IP
	  Next Generation Protocol", RFC 1752, Harvard University,
	  ISI, January 1995.
PEOPLE
[JPB] Jon Postel <postel@isi.edu>
[JWF] Jim Forgie <FORGIE@XN.LL.MIT.ED>
[RH6] Robert Hinden <Hinden@ENG.SUN.COM>
[RXU] Robert Ullmann <ariel@world.std.com>
[PXF] Paul Francis <francis@cactus.ntt.jp>
[RXC] Ross Callon <callon@wellfleet.com>
[Deering] Steve Deering, <deering@parc.xerox.com>, March 1995.
[]

 

 

My name is Michael Oliver, and I can be contacted by email here.
The current time is Sunday, 21-Jan-2018 04:34:18 UTC.
This page was last modified on Friday, 11-Mar-2011 21:01:59 UTC.
This page has received 599 hits since December 2, 2001.